Disaster Management and Related Training in Myanmar


Tun Naing
Professor and Head, Dept Of  Engineering Geology,
Yangon Technological University,
Ministry of Education

 Myanmar is one of the disaster-prone countries in South East Asia due to its geological and geographical settings. The common natural disasters are flood, cyclone, landslide and earthquake. Therefore, systematic and effective disaster management system is very important to face and overcome those disaster. Myanmar has four levels of disaster management committee; National Level Disaster Management Committee, State or Regional Level Disaster Management Committee, City Level Disaster Management Committee and Township Level Disaster Management Committee. The Vice-President of the Union of Myanmar is the chairman of National Level Disaster Management Committee. This committee allocate some amount of budget and support for processes in emergency response and rehabilitation and reconstruction. Generally, each level of committee includes twelve subcommittees: Natural Disaster Management Working Committee, Security Committee, Finance and Fund Committee, International Relation Committee, Health Management Committee, Resettlement and Reconstruction Committee, Rehabilitation of Vocational Committee, News and Information Committee, Transportation and Telecommunication Committee, Finding and Rescue Committee, Security of Transportation Committee, Initial Collection and Confirmation of Damages Committee. The major government organizations which are working in each committee are Department of Disaster Management (DDM), General Administrative Department (GAD), Police Forces, Myanmar Red-cross Society and military. Myanmar has the Disaster Management Training Center which is located in Hinthada city and managed by Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement. At this training center, basic level training program for disaster management and training program for trainers are regularly offered especially for government officials.